Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript
2

All the Irish Things You Need to Know

Guinness, Castles, Whiskey (with an e!), Monasteries, Lindsay Lohan film locales, and is Katie going to learn to play the tin whistle in time
2

I promise I will stop sending you Ireland trip information very soon1 but I wanted to make sure everyone had access to the recording of the Zoom info session

and I did this week! We had so much fun chatting in detail about the itinerary (it’s honestly even more fun and epic than I realized), what we’re most looking forward to, and the value of going on a pilgrimage (and what you bring home with you spiritually, emotionally).

Tune in if you’d like to hear what town we’re visiting that you may recognize from everyone’s new favorite Irish-themed movie - the Lindsay Lohan classic Irish Wish2 - and how I may or may not be learning to play the Irish tin whistle. I had a Guinness during the call and I’m really looking forward to perfecting my pour when we go to the Guinness Factory. :)

If the pilgrimage isn’t in the cards for you at the moment (believe me, I completely get it), would you do us a favor and share this info session, the brochure, etc. with someone who you think might be interested - your book club, your parish, your young adults group? We have such a great group here already3 and I just know there are some people reading this meant to fill these last spots.

Oh! And Christy and I are working on putting together a little ‘reading list’ to get us all in the spirit before we head out on our trip - some history, novels, poetry, folktales - to immerse us in Irish history and the Irish spirit. So pilgrims4, you’ll get an email soon with that list!5

Thanks everyone for putting up with all the pilgrimage talk and I really appreciate your prayers as we get so close to jetting off on this epic tour of the Emerald Isle.6

Cheers and Slainte!

sign up here

1

Truly, I annoy even myself.

2

Honestly even better than Hallmark. Higher budget, just as bad, you just can’t look away. BUT CHECK OUT THAT SCENERY!

3

Speaking of which, I know there is a late 20s single guy signed up who would like to share a room! Single guy travelers, come join us too! This trip is for everyone! And on that note PSA for everyone - if you want the double room rate, jump on that as those spots are limited and we can pair you with a roommate!

4

This is a very niche detail but my husband and I write out joint to-do lists everyday and once I had on it “follow up email with pilgrim” and Chris just thought this was so funny to see alongside ‘grocery store,’ ‘walk dogs,’ etc. and I just love that I can use the word pilgrim so casually in my life now.

5

If anyone has any must-read Irish books, feel free to leave any suggestions in the comments!

6

Dates reminder: October 2nd - 11th! (PS October is hands down best time to travel in the UK - cool weather, great prices, way fewer crowds)

2 Comments
Born of Wonder
Born of Wonder
"We make idols of our concepts but wisdom is born of wonder." Host Katie Marquette takes listeners on a sound-rich, audio adventure for your ears, exploring beauty, aesthetics, theology, literature, and art. www.bornofwonder.com